The Kaizen Blog

Attempts to continually improve in all walks of life

How to Drink Plenty of Water

with 3 comments

It is very important that you are well hydrated at all the times. I found this article which talks about Are you drinking enough water ?

Although I generally have no problem drinking plenty of water during summer months,  during winter, I tend to not drink enough water. So here are some of my tricks to make sure that my water intake doesn’t go down.

Its Good for You !!

Water : Its Good for You !!

As a software professional, I spend most of my work day sitting in a chair in front of a computer. Earlier I used to walk to the water dispenser when I felt thirsty. But at times, I used to be in middle of some serious work, and couldn’t (wouldn’t ?) get up and risk breaking my chain of thoughts.  So then I started carrying a water bottle with me. I would fill it up in the morning, and whenever it was empty.

Last few years, I have been lucky that my office provides water bottles at every desk.

Note : If possible, carry a water bottle made up of glass, or steel, preferably something other than plastic. There are enough studies showing that wrong kind of plastic water bottle can cause cancer in long run. Why take chances ?

OK, so now you carry your water bottle with you. Does that really help ? In my experience, this enough was big enough help for me. I noticed that in first couple of hours after reaching hours, I consume about 750ml of water. Water in take then reduces till about lunch time, and then in the evening, I typically finish another liter of water.

Just having easy access to water itself helped me improve my water intake. (I have noticed that during the weekend, I tend to not drink enough water. 🙂 ) But lets say, you are still not drinking enough water, here are some fun tips to help you drink more water.

  • Use a software timer to drink water say every 30 minutes.
  • If you also work a lot on computer, drink water …  Every time you hit save.
  • If you talk on phone a lot, drink water … Every time you finish phone conversation.
  • Drink water, Every time someone interrupts you 🙂
  • When you are not at work, Drink water … Every time there is commercial break on TV

There can be several such fun things that would make you drink enough water.

What hacks do you use to make sure you are well hydrated ? Please share your ideas in comments.

Photo by Tsja!

Written by Mandar Vaze

December 11, 2008 at 10:18 pm

Posted in Hacks, Health, Self Improvement

Tagged with ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great Post!! Read something once about adding a pinch of sea salt to the water you drink in order to replenish the electrolytes lost in your body. Drinking plentry of water sounds like a splendid (yet overlooked) idea! Thanks for the wonderful tips

    Yaaseen

    December 13, 2008 at 1:44 am

  2. Yup, water is essential especially for those with desk jobs. I carry my bottle around in the gym as well as in office and this helps me guzzle around 4 litres everyday..Not sure of the sea water thing though..

    Rahul

    December 16, 2008 at 3:54 pm

  3. Nice post !! and yes I do agree that easy access to water source ( like a water bottle on your desk or something)will help you walk the extra mile ( in this case ..drink an extra liter).

    Amol

    January 16, 2009 at 10:40 pm


Leave a Reply

