The Kaizen Blog

Attempts to continually improve in all walks of life

Learning to Be Ambidextrous

with 2 comments

am·bi·dex·trous : using both hands with equal ease

Ambidextrous

You Can Color Twice as Much !!

Why should one care about being able to use both hands with equal ease ? There are several reasons. I found a great article here.  I do not think one can become ambidextrous completely, in a sense, he/she can perform any action with either hand with same ease. But most of us can learn to perform several tasks (if not all) with either hand, just by the way of practice.

Using computer mouse

This is where I started.  It was very easy to start. I suggest that you don’t switch windows mouse setup to left mouse.  Instead just use non-dominant hand to use the mouse. For example, if you typically keep your mouse towards right side of the keyboard, then shift it to the opposite side.  It is not as difficult as one may initially think.

I have been using the mouse with left hand at work, and with right hand at home (since the computer is shared with my wife)

Writing

I have unsuccessfully tried holding pen/pencil with left hand. This hasn’t worked so well since one can not be distracted by learning when taking notes in an important meeting. But I have started using the stylus on my touchscreen enabled phone with left hand.

Driving

As most of you know, In US one drives on the right side of the road. The driver sits on the left side in the vehicle, and one changes the gears using right hand. In India, it is exactly opposite (We adopted British style).

I’m proud to say that I can now drive in both the places.  I have been lucky enough to drive in US as well as India. But not everyone may have the opportunity. But there are other things to try, as listed below.

Other things to try

  • Hold your beverage in non-dominant hand
  • Brush with your non-dominant hand
  • Use non-dominant hand when opening a jar (I have successfully done this)
  • Hold your phone in non-dominant hand

Photo by O Pish Posh

Update : Please also this follow-up post

Written by Mandar Vaze

November 25, 2008 at 7:08 am

Posted in Productivity, Self Improvement

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I accidently visited this article, but somehow could not resist to go through it as I also like to tap every method of doing a particular thing.
    Using both halves of your body also develops both the side of your Brain.
    As rightly suggested by you, I will try to use my non-dominant hand to do at least the daily activities.

    Deepak Kelkar

    December 7, 2008 at 7:16 pm

  2. […] : The Other Side After my previous post about learning to use your both hands, I realized that following things are true especially in […]


Leave a Reply

