The Kaizen Blog

Attempts to continually improve in all walks of life

Best Use of Lunch Time

leave a comment »

Generally I carry my own lunch to office, and have my lunch with other colleagues. But few weeks ago,  I could not carry my own lunch for almost a week. Off course, I had my lunch in near by restaurant. (It was good change, but that is not the point of this post 🙂 ) But my other colleagues continued to bring their own lunch, so I had to go out alone. How did I make the most of it ?

Read during the Lunch Hour

Read during the Lunch Hour

I generally try to carry a book everywhere, and a notebook. It helped when waiting in the queue during the lunch time, and waiting after placing the order and till the waiter serves it. It was my own 30 minutes without much of a disturbance. Places where they have lots of tables outside, are even better. I got to sit in a bright sun light, plus no one disturbed me.

During that week, just in lunch time, I was able to finish couple of chapters of The Monk Who Sold his Ferrari. (A very good book by the way, this was my second iteration).

In some restaurants, it is difficult to get a seat if you are just by yourself, it is easier for the group. So while I was waiting one of these days, I met a person from Italy running a software business in India.  We shared a table. I had nice talk with him. Off course, I didn’t read the book that day, but I thought it was well spent 30-minutes.

On a related note, I know it is very common to hit the gym during the lunch hour, at least in US. One of my ex-boss also did this in India (I guess it worked well for him, at least couple of weeks after he started) It won’t work unless you have the gym in same premises as your office (or very near by)

Note: I wish had such a garden (as shown in the picture) near by office where I can take my lunch.

Photo by The Happy Robot

Written by Mandar Vaze

November 20, 2008 at 7:10 am

Leave a Reply

