The Kaizen Blog

Attempts to continually improve in all walks of life

Is TV watching linked to your mood ?

with one comment

I came across this news about Unhappy people watch more TV. The news says that happy people would rather read or socialize than watch TV.

I have also noticed that my TV watching time is linked to my mood as well. e.g. If I had an argument with my spouse, I used to go to the living room, and start watching TV. Irrespective of what was being aired,I would drown myself in senseless TV watching, after enough channel surfing, I would find something that is mildly interesting. Before I know if I have lost a good chunk of time watching some program which has not added any value to me. (reruns are the worst)

Read Instead

Read Instead

After realizing the negative effects this is having (e.g I don’t feel like getting up in the morning after watching TV quite late in the night) on me, I have recently changed myself. Now I try to catch up on the newspaper which (in my opinion) didn’t get its due in the morning frenzy. I now get a chance to read an interesting article in entirety (I noticed  it in the morning, and thought about finishing it up, but most days never get time to)

I do not think people can be classified into happy and unhappy. So the news should have read, in my opinion, people watch more TV when they are unhappy.

On the other hand, I have also noticed that my sadness/anger/negative emotions melt away when I do something positive activity like reading, and that makes me happy (So no need to watch mindless television)

Photo by rockcreek

Written by Mandar Vaze

November 17, 2008 at 8:10 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Interesting post Mandar. I mean while reading through it, I was sub-consciously able to analyse myself. And believe me, I found that it’s the same case with me.

    While typing these lines, I too feel like reducing my TV time if not quitting altogether. I wish this thought turns into my habit .. lets see how far I can go.

    Keep blogging …

    BTW: I reached this page from JPMVSangh EMail about media.

    Deepak

    January 6, 2009 at 12:54 pm


Leave a Reply

