The Kaizen Blog

Attempts to continually improve in all walks of life

HTML Signture for gmail

leave a comment »

I do not understand why google at times ignores some features that are widely available in competing products (liked and demanded on google platform by users).  e.g blogger did not have tags and categories, neither spam protection while most other competing blogging platforms had these features for years. This was one the (rather two) reasons I moved to WP from blogger.

Coming back to HTML signature : Yahoo seems to have it for a while now. If you don’t know how, check this.

Once I started looking seriously, I found that there are several ways to achieve this. Let me tell you about these one by one in a series of posts, over next few days.

I thought of this first option myself although others may have blogged about it, but I doubt it. This is relatively less technical, rather a work around the problem that still gets the job done.

I decided not to use gmail … client that is 🙂 As most of us use gmail using the cool web interface google has provided (cool in terms of features/functionality, not looks) we almost forgot that gmail has been offering IMAP support for quite some time now.

I have configured Thunderbird with my gmail account. Now that I use a full fledged desktop email client, there is no reason for me not to have HTML signed messages.

Using HTML signature in Thunderbird is pretty straight forward.

  • Create any .htm/.html file
  • In Thunderbird, go to Tools > Account Settings
  • On the main page for your Gmail account, click “Attach this signature:”
  • Click on “Choose” and point to the .htm file you created containing your HTML signature

You are out of luck though, if you can’t use gmail IMAP. Corporate setup block the non-standard ports used by Gmail for IMAP support. In that case, you will need to look at other options listed below.

Can’t use GMail IMAP ? No problem, here are your other options :

Written by Mandar Vaze

November 6, 2008 at 6:37 am

Posted in Technical

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

