The Kaizen Blog

Attempts to continually improve in all walks of life

Linked-In : Asking for Recommendation

leave a comment »

I received following email from a friend, I know from college and work, but we haven’t worked together for me to know him professionally.

Sarcasm

Sarcasm

LinkedIn
XXXXX YYYYY has sent you a message.
Date: 9/15/2008
Subject: Recommendation

Am disappointed to know that you don’t have time to write a recommendation for an old friend. 😦 God knows how long it will take you to forget me.

-ZZZZ (XXXXX’s nick name)
View/reply to this message

Don’t want to receive e-mail notifications? Adjust your message settings.

© 2008, LinkedIn Corporation

To be fair, I was asked for recommendation from this person at least once it past via LinkedIn, and a reminder via personal email, and IM. But I don’t think sarcasm is going to win them a recommendation.

I suggest that you be polite when seeking recommendations.  It is OK to send a reminder or two, but over do it. Linked-In recommendation is not end of the world. Some people might break under pressure, and recommend you, but will you like the text they write ? Or are you going to keep pushing till you get a recommendation that makes you happy ? Even if you do get such recommendation, you risk losing your friendship.

I give 10/10 to this person for persistence 🙂

Photo by Abraxas3d

Every Tuesday I publish Tips on How to use LinkedIn effectively for your career. There are several articles that talk about this topic on the net. I present several common sense tips, based on my own experience.

Written by Mandar Vaze

September 23, 2008 at 8:29 pm

Posted in Professional

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

