The Kaizen Blog

Attempts to continually improve in all walks of life

Put Idle time to Productive Use

with one comment

After my previous post about how to convert idle time on weekends into leisure time that you deserve, I have some tips about how to apply this concept to your work life

During the work day, there is hardly any idle time. But there is. What can you do when you have few minutes in between two meetings ? Do you spend that time in cafeteria sipping a cup of coffee ?

You can always use to quickly finish some two minute tasks.

Freedom Filer

Freedom Filer

An example from my personal life. Some time when I take a bus to office, I get ready little early so as not to miss the bus. But some times it is too early, I don’t want to wait at the bus stop. So I have about 5-7 minutes after I am ready, and before I have to leave the house. This is good time to file the paper work. Don’t get me wrong, That is not enough time to go thru all the mail, decide which ones to throw away and which ones to file.

I have already done that earlier. But I hate filing. So I’ll just sort and discard the unwanted stuff while watching TV or something. Of course, it would make sense to file the documents then and there itself, but for some reason I was unable to complete the filing, and now the “to be filed” pile is growing.

If I punch the holes, to say 8-10 papers in those “idle” minutes in the morning, filing them later is so much easier later. Or if I’ve already punched the holes, I may be able to file those papers in those few minutes.

Good use of time, and work gets done.

Photo by Lola Ziegler

Written by Mandar Vaze

August 7, 2008 at 9:55 pm

Posted in GTD, Productivity

Tagged with , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice example.

    For implementing GTD you can use this web-based application:

    http://www.Gtdagenda.com

    You can use it to manage your goals, projects and tasks, set next actions and contexts, use checklists, schedules and a calendar.
    A mobile version is available too.

    Dan

    December 3, 2008 at 2:46 pm


Leave a Reply

