The Kaizen Blog

Attempts to continually improve in all walks of life

The Invisible Tag

leave a comment »

During one of the training I attended, I learnt the concept of invisible Make me feel special tag. Everyone wears this tag. But we need to learn to read this. If we learn to read this, it will help us in all the aspects of life, personal or professional.
Everyone wants to be valued, and we need to keep this in mind during every interaction. Simple things like addressing and greeting someone with their first name,  shows that you care enough to remember their name. We can find the examples in our day to day life.

As part of my job, I need to hire people. I had made an offer to one of the candidates, and while completing his paperwork for on-boarding, I realized that his birthday was just few days later, but before his first day in my organization. I called him on his birthday, and wished him. Eventually this person joined my organization, and now reports to me. Few months later, when I was talking to him, he mentioned that he had another job offer, and that my call on his birthday helped him make his decision in our favour. This incident may not be the only deciding factor, none the less it was one of the factors that helped.

Simple things matter a lot.

Written by Mandar Vaze

December 30, 2007 at 10:36 am

Posted in Professional, Self Improvement

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

