The Kaizen Blog

Attempts to continually improve in all walks of life

Don’t wait till the New Year

with 2 comments

The New Year is upon us, and everyone will be making new year resolution. Most follow through, for few weeks (some, for few months) and then back to their usual self, till end of 2008.  I don’t mean to imply that I never had that problem. I did, when I used to make New Year resolutions. I don’t any more. I mean, I don’t make new year resolutions any more. That brings me to the title of this post. I have seen that new year resolution is just another way to procrastinate.

The idea for this blog struck me when we were having discussion , and someone suggested some improvement to my wife, and that it can be her new year resolution. That is when someone else said “why wait till new year. If you really do want to improve, why not start from tomorrow or right away ?

.. and that made complete sense to me. I have been doing that in my personal life for a while now, without consciously thinking from this point of view. I have implemented several small improvements in my personal life without waiting for the auspicious day to implement the change. I must say that if one is sincere about their personal improvement, one doesn’t need to wait. Additionally, one also follows through because the desire to change is strong one. At least it is true for me.

Go ahead, and change yourself for the better, without trying to change.
As the wise Yoda said : “Do or Do Not. There is no try”

Written by Mandar Vaze

December 15, 2007 at 2:06 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. yoda gave that the official go ahead that it needed, i agree

    afroladyearrings

    December 15, 2007 at 2:09 pm

  2. I was going to join “Procastinators Anonymous” but I put it off till later…

    Seriously, I like your blog on continuous improvement. I write one on Kaizen in business.

    Frank Paolino

    November 14, 2008 at 2:40 am


Leave a Reply

